The Sarnia – Lambton EDA or Electoral District Association of the Conservative Party of Canada is the organization which acts on behalf of the Conservative Party of Canada locally.

The EDA has important tasks to perform such as:

  1. Ensuring a unified local presence of Conservative Party supporters
  2. Participating in the development and promotion of Conservative Party policies
  3. Promoting  the Conservative Party and to build party membership
  4. Nominating and supporting a Conservative Party election candidate.
  5. Fundraising to support locally and nationally, the Conservative Party of Canada including election fundraising.
  6. Maintaining a local election readiness plan, and supporting the Conservative Party candidate during an election.

We are very pleased our candidate Marilyn Gladu was elected Member of Parliament in the 2015 federal election, and while it is in our mandate to support and work closely with our local candidate or in this case M.P. The EDA does not actually work for the M.P. or candidate. Instead the EDA is a separate and distinct organization, which performs on behalf of the Conservative Party of Canada. The M.P. always maintains his own office, staff, and resources separate from that of the EDA to handle government matters.

The electoral district of Sarnia–Lambton (Ontario) has a population of 106,293 with 81,362 registered voters and 227 polling divisions.

Consisting of that part of the County of Lambton comprised of: the City of Sarnia; the towns of Petrolia and Plympton-Wyoming; the villages of Oil Springs and Point Edward; the townships of Enniskillen and St. Clair; Sarnia Indian Reserve No. 45.

Riding Map

Board of Directors

President – Keith Benn
Vice President  – Howard Bartlett
Vice President – Kerry Vandenberg
Chief Financial Officer – Gordon Brown

Secretary – Angela Sheppard  
Membership Chair – Richard Podlacha
Director – Iain Baxter
Director – Dick Carpani
Director – Gordon Perry
Director – Joan Pickett
Director – Vic Dudek
Director –  Louyse Larochelle
Director – Bill Mandeville
Director – Sharon MacDonald
Director – 
Matt Mitro
Director – Koert Nieuwenhuis
Director – Muriel Wright
Advisor – Andrew Esser
Advisor –  Bonnie Guthrie
Advisor – Matt Pickard
Advisor – Glynn Cole
Advisor –  Michael Hanki

Historical Results

Members of Parliament

  1. Bud Cullen, Liberal (1968-1979)
  2. Bill Campbell, Progressive Conservative (1979-1980)
  3. Bud Cullen, Liberal (1980-1984)
  4. Ken James, Progressive Conservative (1984-1993)
  5. Roger Gallaway, Liberal (1993-2006)
  6. Pat Davidson, Conservative (2006-2015)
  7. Marilyn Gladu, Conservative (2015 –     )

Our Riding Since 1867

At Confederation, what is essentially our riding, was called Lambton. In the first election on August 7th, 1867, Liberal Alexander Mackenzie, a contractor, defeated Conservative Alexander Vidal, a land surveyor, 1,999 votes to 1,311 votes.

From 1862 to 1966, the riding was called Lambton West. Since then, the boundaries and the name have changed somewhat, but the riding has remained the westerly part of Lambton County.

In 1970, the riding became Sarnia-Lambton; then Sarnia in 1976, and Sarnia-Lambton again in 1981, which it has remained to this day.

The boundaries of the riding were changed in 2003 to include: the City of Sarnia; the Towns of Petrolia and Plympton-Wyoming; the Villages of Oil Springs and Point Edward; the Townships of Enniskillen and St. Clair and Sarnia Indian Reserve No. 45.

For an complete History of our Riding since 1867 see the Parliamentary Website (click to enter)